Claudia Rankine was interviewed on NPR today. This excerpt from the interview chimes with my previous post on Citizen

I wanted to create the field of the encounter; what happens when one body comes up against another and race enters into the moment of intimacy between two people.

Reading this made me wonder if there wasn’t more to the vague connection I made between Rankine and Levinas. Googling their names together, I found this passage from Rankine’s book Don’t Let Me Be Lonelypublished in 2004: 

image

Leave a Reply

